How to make pumpkin pie spice

Pumpkin pie spice

How lame, right? To kick off VeganMoFo with a spice recipe? But trust me, you’re going to need a lot of this if you plan on making any of the pumpkin recipes I’m going to share over the next month. That’s right, an entire month chock-full of pumpkin recipes – from pumpkin spice cinnamon rolls and doughnuts, to pumpkin pretzels and ice cream – we’re going to do more than cover the pumpkin basics, folks.
And yes, I’m well aware that there are a bazillion pumpkin pie spice recipes floating around on the internet, but I promise you, this is thee pumpkin pie spice recipe. Literally indistinguishable from it’s factory bottled counterpart.

PUMPKIN PIE SPICE

2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

Do I really need to give you instructions on how to make this? In a small bowl, whisk together the cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves. Store in an air tight container until ready to use.
Yield: 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

11 thoughts on “How to make pumpkin pie spice

  1. I have never even known what pumpkin spice was! I'm so lame! haha, ohhh dear. I'm sure I live under a rock most of the time or something.I have always thought that it was just some kind of dried pumpkin..with spices in it. I guess I will have to make some of this in preparation for your recipes. And then I won't ever have to skip it when I see it listed in other recipes again.

  2. I have quarts and quarts of pumpkin purée in the freezer, and six more huge pumpkins from my garden to hack up. I think your Vegan MoFo was made for me and my over-abundant garden!

  3. theres nothing like pumpkin spice in germany. just that one mixture for lebkuchen (ginger bread). we even dont have allspice. so this mixture gives a hint of what spices to put into if the recipe calls for pumpkin spice. thanks : )

  4. I could not have stumbled upon your blog at a better time! The weather is cooling and I was just starting to crave pumpkin things. This spice will make my baked goods much fresher without having to go buy prepackaged pumpkin pie spice!

Leave a Reply

