Peanut butter breakfast cookies

Peanut butter breakfast cookies

I don’t think many people know this about me – and you certainly cannot tell while I’m fully clothed – but I’m kind of (and by kind of I mean really) into weight lifting. Biceps, triceps, 6packs; I’m all about them. And as a result, I very rarely consume desserts that are loaded with butter, sugar and all of that other junk people use to sabotage their svelte figures. My idea of a dessert is something that tastes delicious, while still nourishing my body – not something that makes me feel sluggish for hours on end. Furthermore, I refuse to eat anything that will hinder the process of me developing a set of abs similar to those of the Greek gods. No, really.

With that being said, this is not your average peanut butter cookie recipe (but this is). I prefer the recipe below, but will sometimes replace the almond milk with additional maple syrup (or vice versa). They’re especially delicious when made with a few scoops of hemp protein powder and a handful of cacao nibs. You know, something to add a little umph! to these plain ass cookies.

PEANUT BUTTER BREAKFAST COOKIES (GF)

1/2 c. natural peanut butter
1/4 c. pure maple syrup
1/4 c. almond milk
1/4 c. flax seed meal
1 1/2 c. oat groat flour

Preheat oven to 350˚F. Line a small baking sheet with a silicon mat or parchment paper; set aside. In a small bowl, stir together the peanut butter, maple syrup and almond milk. Mix in the flax meal until combined, then stir in the flour. Using a large cookie scoop, drop the dough onto the prepared baking sheet. Press with a fork then bake at 350˚F for 12 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack then store in an air tight container (preferably in the refrigerator).

Yield: 7 cookies, one for every day of the week

11 thoughts on “Peanut butter breakfast cookies

  1. ahh..i am EXACTLY the same way. i won't eat something unless it nourishes my body and keeps it in tip-top shape. delicious looking cookies! their texture looks awesome. and i love that it makes one for each day of the week!

  2. Hm… I have all these ingredients + a major sweet tooth + a desire to eat healthier++++ a gloomy day to spend inside with the rug rats. Sounds like I will be trying these today! Just pinned this recipe on Pinterest. Thank you! I will be back to read more!

  3. Made these earlier today. Fantastic flavour, unlike other peanut butter cookie recipes I've tried you can really taste the peanut butter. I also love how they don't include sugar or butter! I did accidentally make these with oat bran (mistaking it for groat flour) but other then that they're still edible and unfortunately taste far to good to even consider discarding. I was just wondering if these could be made with wholemeal or gluten free flour?

  4. Hey, if oat bran worked for you – that's great! The two are very similar, anyhow. Buckwheat flour works as well, FYI. You could absolutely use any other flour you want – you may need to add less or more than the 1 1/2 cup measurement, depending on the density of the flour.

Leave a Reply

