Chocolate

IMG_1380

This will probably come as a shock to most of you, but I spend about $80 a month on chocolate. Some people have gas budgets, some people have alcohol budgets, I have a chocolate budget. Which means I don’t have an alcohol budget, because all the money I would spend on alcohol gets siphoned into my chocolate budget. I’ll admit, most of the budget is for those $2 packs of Justin’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups – becuase I can’t come within a one mile radius of them without buying a pack (which sucks, for my pocketbook, considering I live two blocks away from a Whole Foods) – but the remaining $30-40 dollars goes toward fancy chocolate bars, like the ones pictured above.
My favorite chocolate ever? Moonstruck’s 68% cacao bar (not pictured becuase it never lasts long enough for me to photograph). It is literally the creamiest dark chocolate you will ever eat. My favorite bean-to-bar chocolate was Askinosie, until I tried Moonstruck’s single origin. I don’t know how they do it, but Moonstruck has some mad chocolate making abilities. And if you enjoy dark chocolate in the slightest, you should check out the companies listed below. In my opinion, they’ve created some of the greatest bars available.

19 thoughts on “Chocolate

  1. Coincidentally, I just learned a few weeks ago that Moonstruck is actually produced by a couple of my in-laws out in Oregon. We were just out there on vacation and failed to even buy a single bar, so I'll have to take your word for it. Sweet to see them pop up here. πŸ™‚

  2. I woke up CRAVING Dark Chocolate this morning…. so of course I would see your blog about chocolate bars first thing when I turn on my laptop! I love sweets but I prefer fancy stuff when I do, and every single one in your photo looks fantastic. I have never heard of a Moonstruck bar, maybe I will see one some time! :)-Kaylahttp://craftyay.blogspot.com/

  3. That's an impressive chocolate budget! Good thing you don't live in Seattle where we have a store that sells only vegan shoes and chocolate. That's where I buy Fearless chocolate. I'll look for Moonstruck next time I'm there. We also have a chocolate factory called Theo. Have you ever tried Intemperantia? (http://intemperantia.com/vegan.aspx) I thought it was amazing.

  4. Wow, very jealous of your chocolate stash and that you have $80 a month to spend on chocolate. As an impoverished student I ration myself to a bar a week. I like Lindt 70% best and It's actually really reasonably priced. We don't have quite the range that you do in England but we do have Divine which I also love πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for sharing that site, Andrea! I might be buying the box of Pave Glace soon – I love soft chocolates. And you certainly need to check out Moonstruck. Their chocolate is, hands down, the best I've ever had. And I've had a LOT of chocolate πŸ˜‰

  6. Duly noted. We actually stopped in to a candy store in Bend that had Moonstruck bars there. I don't know why we didn't get them. My sis-in-law got one for her toddler's b-day, but we were single-minded in our mission to get gelato. Now, I'll have to settle on ordering them via the post.

  7. Hmm, I'll definitely have to check out Moonstruck the next time we're at Whole Foods. Very exciting to have such a hefty chocolate budget. When I was single, I dumped all my extra cash into my obese cat.

  8. So I came, I read, and then for days I have been meaning to comment. What kept me away is the fact that I've been wandering around stores checking out their chocolate selections and trying to decide what to buy and try. Sadly, I can't get my hands on a Moonstruck bar until I get to NYC next, but it will happen!

Leave a Reply

